Personnel

Director


Michael P. De Luca
Director
Email: deluca@marine.rutgers.edu | Phone: 848-932-3474

 

Faculty


Ximing Guo 
Professor
Shellfish genetics and breeding
Email: xguo@hsrl@rutgers.edu | Phone: 856-785-0074 x4324
Why do you enjoy working at the AIC?
   The AIC is a state-of-art facility for shellfish production and research. It has intermediate salinity that is suitable for the variety of marine organisms. It is an ideal place to develop new varieties and technologies for aquaculture.

 

Research and Technical Staff


David Jones
AIC Operations Manager / Laboratory Researcher II
Hatchery facilities and operations, shellfish culture
Email: David.Jones@rutgers.edu | Phone: 609-884-3139

 

Joshua Kiernan
Laboratory/Technical Assistant
Algal production
Email: Joshua.Kiernan@rutgers.edu | Phone: 609-884-3139
Why do you enjoy working at the AIC?
   I enjoy the open, fun and welcoming environment that my fellow staff create at the AIC.

 

Matthew Neuman
Shellfish Production Manager / Laboratory Researcher III
Shellfish husbandry
Email: Matt.Neuman@rutgers.edu | Phone: 609-884-3139
Why do you enjoy working at the AIC?
   I enjoy working at the AIC because of the friendly atmosphere and working with an array of talented individuals. I also like that the work is very dynamic and there is always something new to learn, design, or construct.

 

Sean Towers
Research Coordinator / Laboratory Researcher III
Microalgae culture, research coordination, photo-bioreactor technology, algal-based nutraceutial development
Email: Sean.Towers@rutgers.edu | Phone: 609-884-3139
Why do you enjoy working at the AIC?
   It is exciting and fulfilling to work at a facility that bridges the gap between research and true-scale, “real-world” application. The ability to see the work we do translate into building a local, sustainable, and eco-friendly aquaculture industry gives me great joy. The staff, students, and seasonal technicians working here are all extremely talented individuals and all care deeply about the work we do. Everyone is actively doing their own small part to ensure a healthier and more sustainable world moving forward.

 

Graduate Students


Michael Acquafredda
PhD Candidate
Optimal culture conditions for surfclams and other shellfish
Email: Michael.Acquafredda@rutgers.edu | Phone: 732-275-2793
Why do you enjoy working at the AIC?
   I enjoy working at the AIC because it offers valuable resources that facilitate my research. At the AIC, I am able to run multiple experiments simultaneously due to the facilities expansive size, its lab space and shellfish husbandry equipment, its helpful personnel, and its access to both raw and treated seawater.

 

Samantha Gilbert-Lynch
PhD Candidate
Optimal culture conditions for bay scallops
Email: S.Gilbert@rutgers.edu
Why do you enjoy working at the AIC?
   The knowledgeable and helpful staff members create a productive working environment.

 

Bernard Somers
PhD Candidate
Natural products from microalgae
Email: Bernard.Somers@rutgers.edu


Aquaculture Innovation Center